Case Study

 

The pearl of French Polynesia for Harvard Medical School's Department of Urology

 

Harvard University's Department of Urology, which is affiliated with Brigham and Women's Hospital, contracted Cameleo to create and organize an international event. In 2019, we held the first edition of Men's Health & Advances in Urologic Care at Conrad Bora Bora, a one-of-a-kind resort in the heart of French Polynesia.

Client objectives

The Scientific Committee, which was made up of members of Brigham and Women's Hospital, put together two distinct scientific programs for the event. Program 1 was exclusively for surgeons from the international urologic community. Program 2 was for family physicians and specialists in various fields who were interested in men's health. The event targeted an international clientele.

The Scientific Committee's main objective was to generate substantial interest in their event by holding it in a world-class destination. They sought a location that was exclusive, welcoming and unique. 

They also wanted to showcase the research conducted and advancements made by the organizing team and its department at the hospital. Creating an event of this calibre is a good way to provide visibility to notable projects and achievements.

Since collegiality among participants would be key to the event's success, the program needed to provide physicians with opportunities to personally connect with the international experts in attendance. Both the destination and the activities had to be attractive in order to attract high-profile guests.

Event creation and organization 

After exploring several high-potential locations, we selected Conrad Bora Bora and reserved the entire site for October 9 to 14, 2019. Accessible exclusively by boat, the venue is like an island oasis. Bora Bora is known for its villas on stilts, white sand beaches and lush greenery.

Reserving the entire hotel allowed us to provide highly personalized service and create a private event where participants could get to know each other more easily.

We also reserved Motu Tapu, a pristine islet, for the scientific event's closing dinner. In this truly magical atmosphere, participants shared a meal, a glass of wine and an unforgettable experience. The dinner was open to all guests and will remain a cherished memory for years to come.

Final outcome

The most salient feedback we received was that the event facilitated connections between speakers and participants, making it easy and enjoyable for them to share specialized knowledge. Bora Bora's reputation is well-deserved and participants reported enjoying an energizing and enriching experience, for a variety of different reasons.

By choosing a unique venue for the meeting and offering an exciting yet intimate event, the organizers were able to attract eminent urologists from around the world. An interesting venue is always an asset for drawing well-known medical specialists.

Conference participation rates are linked to the opportunities for participants and experts to interact. Physicians rarely have the time to sit together and discuss recent advancements in an environment that's fulfilling on both the personal and professional levels.

In a world where information circulates rapidly, it makes sense to present research findings in a variety of ways. Holding scientific meetings gives researchers the unique opportunity to provide in-depth information about their work. This event made it possible for the Scientific Committee members to gain local and international recognition.

The first edition of Men's Health & Advances in Urologic Care was a resounding success. The international conference can now look forward to expanding its reach in the years to come.

We'd like to thank Harvard University’s Department of Urology, affiliated with Brigham and Women’s Hospital, for trusting our team to create and organize their event.

Find the second edition of Advances in Urologic Care on UrologicCare.com

Étude de cas

 

La perle de la Polynésie française pour le service d'urologie de Harvard Medical School

Le service d'urologie de l'Université Harvard, affilié au Brigham and Women's Hospital a mandaté Caméléo pour la création et l'organisation d'un événement international. En 2019, la première édition de Men's Health & Advances in Urologic Care a eu lieu au Conrad Bora Bora, un hôtel d’exception en plein coeur de la Polynésie française.

Objectifs du client

Le comité scientifique composé de membres du Brigham and Women's Hospital offrait deux programmes scientifiques durant cet événement. Le premier, à l’intention de la communauté internationale d’urologie, ciblait uniquement ces chirurgiens. Le second ciblait les médecins de famille et médecins spécialistes issus de différents champs de pratique ayant un intérêt en santé des hommes. La portée de la clientèle était internationale.

L'objectif principal du comité scientifique était de susciter un grand intérêt pour leur événement en l'organisant dans une destination de calibre mondial. Le lieu choisit devait être exclusif, convivial et unique. 

Cette démarche avait aussi pour but de faire valoir les recherches et avancées de l'équipe organisatrice et de son département à l'hôpital. Lancer un tel événement génère inévitablement une visibilité pour les projets qui y sont présentés.

Une collégialité active de la communauté internationale était un grand facteur de succès. L'événement devait permettre une proximité avec des experts internationaux, au bénéfice de l'expérience de tous. La destination et le contexte devaient être attirants pour avoir des invités de premier plan.

Création et organisation de l'événement par Caméléo

Après des recherches exploratoires dans plusieurs lieux à haut potentiel, notre choix s'est arrêté sur le Conrad Bora Bora, que nous avons entièrement privatisé du 9 au 14 octobre 2019. Uniquement accessible en bateau, cet hôtel est un véritable paradis terrestre. Bora Bora, ce sont ces légendaires villas sur pilotis, de somptueux couchers de soleil, des plages de sable blanc à faire rêver et une nature luxuriante.

Privatiser cet hôtel a rendu possible un service personnalisé à l'extrême, tout en marquant une exclusivité qui favorise les contacts entre les participants.

En guise de clôture de ce grand événement scientifique, nous avons réservé exclusivement le Motu Tapu, une île inhabitée, inaccessible et sacrée, le temps d’une soirée gastronomique, festive et magique. Cette soirée unique, incluse pour tous, restera assurément gravée dans nos mémoires à tout jamais.

Résultats et expérience vécue

Parmi les commentaires recueillis sur place, nous avons retenu une forte proximité entre conférenciers et participants, rendant agréable le partage de connaissances pointues. La réputation de Bora Bora n'étant pas surfaite, chaque participant a vécu de façon différente un séjour énergisant et valorisant.

Tenir la rencontre dans un contexte différent a permis aux organisateurs de recevoir la visite de sommités internationales d'urologie, étant donné la nature plus divertissante et intime de l'événement. Regrouper des figures connues d'une spécialité médicale est toujours facilité par une destination intéressante. Le taux de participation aux conférences est lié à la proximité entre les participants et les experts. Il est bien rare de pouvoir prendre le temps de discuter d'avancées concrètes autour d'une même table, dans un contexte tout aussi professionnel que personnel.

Dans un monde où l'information circule rapidement, il est pertinent de présenter ses résultats de recherche sous différentes formes, et la tenue d'ateliers scientifiques vient donner une profondeur d'information inégalée. À cet effet, les membres composant le comité scientifique ont obtenu une reconnaissance autant locale qu'internationale.

Un succès, donc, pour cette première édition de Men's Health & Advances in Urologic Care et Advances in Urologic Care, un rendez-vous international qui ne pourra qu'élargir ses horizons dans les années qui viendront.

Nous remercions le service d'urologie de l'Université Harvard, affilié au Brigham and Women's Hospital, pour leur confiance tout au long de ce mandat.

Trouvez l'édition 2021 de Advances in Urologic Care sur UrologicCare.com